Decatur School Board to Recognize Student Authors

The board meets at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday in the Westchester building.

The Decatur School Board on Tuesday will recognize K-12 students who advanced in the Young Georgia Authors’ Writing Competition.

The winners were judged on engagement, informative/imaginative, flavor/originality/word choice, focus (relevance, coherence, movement) and capitalization/spelling/punctuation.

The student winners are:

  • Kindergarten -- Anders Pers, Winnona Park Elementary.
  • First grade -- Carlyn Collins, Glennwood Elementary.
  • Second grade -- Evie Vesper, Glennwood Elementary.
  • Third grade -- Kai Watts, Winnona Park Elementary.
  • Fourth grade -- Laine Marrah, 4/5 Academy.
  • Fifth grade -- Kristina Jones, 4/5 Academy.   
  • Sixth grade -- Molly Weston, Renfroe Middle.
  • Seventh grade -- Will Capriola, Renfroe Middle.   
  • Eighth grade -- Matilda Moore, Renfroe Middle.
  • Ninth and 10 grades -- No winners.
  • 11th grade -- Zack Loehle, Decatur High.
  • 12th grade -- Googie Daniels, Decatur High.

The school board will also discuss its annual retreat, to be held Aug. 24-25 at the Evergreen Marriot in Stone Mountain.

The school board meeting starts at 6:30 p.m. at the Westchester Auditorium at 758 Scott Blvd. Go to the school system web page to see an agenda of the meeting.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something